WordPress to Hootsuite Pro can log the result of each status message sent to Hootsuite through the Publish, Update, Repost and Bulk Publish actions.
Most of the time you won’t need to do anything with these Logs – however, they’re useful to confirm if WordPress to Hootsuite Pro attempted to send a status to Hootsuite, and whether the status was accepted.
In the WordPress Administration, click on the WP to Hootsuite Pro > Settings in the menu.
If enabled, for each Post, the Plugin will log whether statuses were sent to Hootsuite, and if so the result.
Display on Posts
If enabled, this displays Post-specific Logs on each Post when editing a Post, Page or Custom Post Type in the WordPress Administration interface.
The Log Level defines which log results to save to the Log database. This is useful if you only want to log specific results, such as success and error messages.
- Success: When enabled, statuses that are successfully added to Hootsuite will be added to the log.
- Tests: When enabled, statuses that are sent using Test Mode will be added to the log.
- Pending: When enabled, statuses that are due to be sent using WordPress’ CRON will be added to the log.
- This happens when Use WP Cron is enabled in the Plugin’s settings.
- Warnings: When enabled, log entries are added when status settings result in no statuses being sent to Hootsuite
- This is useful to help diagnose why a status is not sending to Hootsuite when you expect it to – for example, you might have Status Conditions enabled, or did not enable the specific action (Publish, Update etc)
- Errors: Errors returned from Hootsuite when attempting to add a status will be added to the log.
- This option is always enabled.
Preserve Logs defines the number of days to preserve logs for before they are automatically purged (deleted) from the log database table. A sensible default is provided by the Plugin of 30 days, but you may wish to adjust this accordingly.
If the value is zero or blank, logs are kept indefinitely and never automatically deleted.
To monitor your WordPress Cron jobs, we recommend installing WP Crontrol. WordPress to Hootsuite Pro will display the Log Cleanup job with the Hook Name wp_to_hootsuite_pro_log_cleanup_cron
To view the Logs, click on WP to Hootsuite Pro > Logs in the WordPress Administration interface:
A table will be displayed, showing all status activity, ordered by when a status was sent to Hootsuite, newest to oldest:
Understanding Log Entries
Each log entry comprises of the following information:
|Post ID||The Post ID the Log Entry refers to.|
|Request Sent||When the status was sent from the Plugin to Hootsuite|
|Action||The Post Action that triggered this status (Publish, Update, Repost, Bulk Publish)|
|Profile||The Social Media Profile the status message is for|
|Status Text||The Status Text of the status message|
|Result||The result from sending the status to Hootsuite:
|Response||The response from either the Plugin or Hootsuite, depending on the Result:
|Hootsuite: Status Created At||(Only when Result = Success). When the status was added to Hootsuite.|
|Hootsuite: Status Scheduled For||(Only when Result = Success). When the status is scheduled to be sent by Hootsuite to the Profile.|
If you’ve configured multiple statuses, or enabled statuses to be sent to multiple social media profiles, you will see individual log entries for each status and social media profile combination.
Viewing Post-specific Logs
To view logs for a specific Post, you can either:
- Edit the Post, or
- Use the Logs screen and search by Post Title or ID
Edit the Post that you wish to view the Log for.
The Log will then be displayed in a meta box towards the bottom of the screen:
Search Logs Screen
To view logs for a specific Post ID, or partial Post Title, from the Logs screen:
- Enter the Post ID, or partial Post Title, in the search box:
- Click the Search button.
A table will be displayed, showing Log Entries matching the Post ID or partial Post Title
Logs can be filtered by:
- Action (Post Publish, Post Update, Automatic Repost or Bulk Publish)
- Social Media Profile
- Result (Success, Test, Warning or Error)
- Request Sent Date Range
To filter the logs, click on the relevant filter above the table, selecting the applicable value:
Click the Apply button to see the filtered logs.
Delete Log Entries
To delete one or more log entries:
- Click the checkbox beside each log entry in the table:
- Under Bulk Actions, select Delete:
- Click the Apply button
To delete all log entries:
- Click the Clear Log button